DYSTERSOL – ‘The Fifth Age of Man’! A crushing modern metal bundle you should definitely check it out!

Dystersol strike back with their second full-length since 2014, entitled ‘The Fifth Age of Man’. The Album contains 14 new tracks lasting 55 minutes and it was released on WormHoleDeath on May 4th, 2018.

Heavy, shattering guitar riffs, groovy deep bass lines, crushing double bass drums and mighty orchestras and synths provide the solid basis for uncompromising growling and screaming voices. Dystersol’s style can’t be assigned to one specific genre, but is definitely exciting for everyone who loves to bang their head to modern heavy music.


1. Fifth Age of Man
2. Life Amongst the Ruins
3. Down to Nothing
4. End of the Fall
5. Winterking
6. Tragedy of the Gifted Ones
7. Night of the Hunter
8. Children of the Wasteland
9. Beyond Blood
10. Olimpia
11. Comforting the Soulless
12. Psychopath
13. Danse Macabre
14. End Game


About the Album
The whole album takes place during the Five Ages of Man described by Hesoid, Ovid and other ancient Greek writers. The tracks focus on the Iron Age, the last age of humanity, where people live in misery and kill each other for literally nothing.

The stories wander through time, leaving one constant element: beings falling from grace while trying to achieve progress and knowledge for Mankind. From Prometheus (“the one who stole the flame”, “the bringer of fire” in tracks) over the snake in paradise, to the Morning Star (“the shining one”). In the end, as described in Ovid’s Ages of Man, humanity is not able to handle these technical progresses, thus leading to the Fifth Age.

The Album introduces an allegoric figure which is referred to many times throughout the tracks: The Winterking. A king for one winter, rising with a blaze, disappearing again soon, waiting on frozen plains for his return. Referring to Prometheus and the Morning Star, it is based on the historical figure of Frederik V, representing a quick rise and having enormous impact on the whole world, even though everybody already knows that the time for this person is restricted.

However, the album is not about retelling mythological stories, but on connoting their meaning to modern times and personal concerns. As a consequence, the tracks leave a lot of room for interpretation, and many lyrics can be transferred to refer to one’s personal situation. In the end, the album leaves an oppressive and concerning connotation: The world in its Fifth Age is fucked up.

Egoistic motives have destroyed the whole planet for decades, and exploited people at the end of the food chain hunt each other down for worthless things


Band’s Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: